I broke a 400 mile hiking milestone

I know. I know. I’m boasting. Will you bear with me for a moment? I wanted to share my hiking milestone with you all.

On Memorial Day I topped the 400th mile I’ve walked, jogged or hiked since I began my new life plan July 1, 2015. I want to thank all of you who have been so encouraging and supportive since I started last summer when I tipped the scales at 238 pounds.  I’m shedding six extra pounds that slipped on, but I’m on goal to get back to 185 by next week.

Today I hiked the farthest I’ve hiked–6.3 miles; the longest I’ve hiked –2 hours 07min; and,the best thing, I burned the most calories–815.

I was hoping to top 500 miles this year; but I’ll be happy with whatever my total miles hiked ends up being.

Thanks again for all your support and encouragement along the way.

me at 238 and 185

This entry was posted in Eat To Live, God and tagged , , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

6 thoughts on “I broke a 400 mile hiking milestone

  1. Wow! Steven that is fantastic! You look great ! The before and after photos are an amazing testimony! I wish I could get my husband to go and just take a walk, forget the hiking for now. Always an excuse, but he can do many other things. Oh well, he has to desire it himself.
    I will say that I am 52 and that is one thing I have never had to worry with…so far anyway. I could exercise more and tone up a little here and there but my daddy was 6’2 and my momma always said that no matter h I was much she fed him he wouldn’t put on a pound. I took after my daddy. By the time I was in the 7th grade I was 5’7 and taller than all my friends and very self conscious of it. By the time I was fully grown I only reached 5’8, and still there. When younger it was all I could do to stay at 110 to 115. Even after my first child I was right back at the same weight. There was a point when I was going through a divorce I was stressed and lost down to 101 to 105! Terrible! Embarrassed to have shorts on because even I thought my legs looked sickly! I began stopping at McDonald’s 3 times a day and shoveling down burgers and fries…2 at a time… (quarter pounders with cheese), just to try and force some pounds on. As the years have passed I think 120 to 128 is where I stay and that isn’t trying. Trust me, I have to eat a big bowl of ice cream every night in bed before falling asleep and I go into panic mode if I forgot to pick up more. Lol. I am thankful weight is one issue I don’t have to worry with. I have enough without it! Thank you daddy for your genes. I think the thing that pushed me on up to 120 was when I quit smoking! Best thing I ever did!

    BUT, you look great! Hard work paid off! So very happy for you and you are an inspiration to many! Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Looking,
      Thank you so much for your comments and your story. I love to hear others’ testimonies about their struggles and their triumphs. My weight has always ridden a seesaw. I’m down to where life is comfortable for me now. And now I know how to stay there. I just need to remain committed to do all the things that got me here.
      You’re a blessing to me for your candor and transparency. I enjoy our exchanges. Hope your husband gets motivated soon. I know how that is as well. I was there for years until my health poked me and said, “It’s time to do something about this.” Both my kids encouraged me too. They pushed me to do it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

