Ten excuses for not changing

As I wrote posts this week from John 5 about the afflicted man Jesus healed at the pool of Bethesda, I thought about excuses. I thought about the excuse he offered Jesus for not wanting to change:

“I have no man to put me into the pool when the water is stirred up, but while I am coming, another steps down before me.” John 5:7

His excuses started me thinking about my excuses. Across the years I’ve had dozens of chances to change my life for the better. I walked right into some of those chances to change. At other times, though, I felt comfortable where I was. Or I was afraid and I chose not to change.

I’ve offered up lots of excuses to remain lounging on my mat. Here’s a list of ten excuses (not in any particular order) for not changing. I’ve used most of them. How about you?

  1. It would be too hard.
  2. I’m afraid of what might happen.
  3. At least I’m surviving.
  4. I’ll probably be rejected.
  5. This is where I am and God loves me anyway.
  6. God put me here. He must have a good reason.
  7. I’ve been this way so long I’m comfortable here.
  8. I really don’t know where I’d start.
  9. My friends might abandon me.
  10. It probably wouldn’t work anyway.

What are some excuses you’ve used to keep from making the effort to change? Even when you knew, like I did, that the change would probably be positive?

 

5 thoughts on “Ten excuses for not changing

  1. Those pretty much cover it for me. Some might add, “God doesn’t do that kind of thing anymore.” Another along the lines of #7 might be, “I will lose my identity” (This is who I am).

    Like

    • I’ve worn out #5 before. I tell myself that I’m getting by and nothing terrible is happening to me. I create this false sense of security. I think to myself, “This is not so bad, and I don’t think anyone else will be hurt by my choices.” Awww! That turned out to be a horrible place for me. That false sense of complacency backfired on my and I got hurt and burned badly.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Ten excuses for not changing | Daily Bread

Leave a Reply

