My 54-pound, one year anniversary

Please join me as I celebrate my 54-pound, one-year, new life plan anniversary.eat to live

On July 1, 2015 I began a plan that would change my life for the better forever.

  • I set a goal to lose 45 pounds in six months.
    I lost 54 pounds, In 133 days.
  • I wanted to walk 300 miles.  I walked or hiked 433 miles.
  • I burned 57,846 calories on 137 exercise activities.

The actual figures are somewhat higher. I logged some exercise activities without recording the results on my Runkeeper app. On my first exercise activity I walked less than a mile. Last week I hiked 5.25 miles. My average hiking distance is between 3.5 and 5 miles averaging four or five times a week.

I owe my life change, in large part, to Joel Fuhrman’s book Eat to Live. And I owe an equal measure of gratitude to my grown up son and daughter, who began riding me about being overweight all year before.

The blistering heat here in the Atlanta area (high 90’s) limits my exercise activities, but I love to walk in the heat, so when I do walk it doesn’t bother me.  Yes, I’m hydrated. I carry water and a towel with me when I exercise.

Year two will be all about maintenance. Keeping my weight within a range of +/-5-7 pounds of 185.

Thanks for all your support and encouragement this past year.

 

This entry was posted in Eat To Live, God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

3 thoughts on “My 54-pound, one year anniversary

Leave a Reply

