Are we celebrating independence; or should we become more DEpendant?

I don’t know about you, but for me independence ain’t what it used to be.

My Webster’s Dictionary defines Independence as the exemption from reliance on, or control by others; self-subsistence or maintenance; direction of one’s own affairs without interference.

That seemed to work for the pilgrims. They were oppressed by the possessive British Crown bent on controlling the lives and affairs of the settlers in the new land.

I’m not excited about celebrating what we call liberty and the home of the brave and the land of the free, even though we are.

We are increasingly reliant on government, and relinquishing more freedom to their control. Self-subsistence seems to be restricted to the super rich. And who do you know these days who’s directing their own affairs without interference?

It just doesn’t feel like much independence to me. So I’m not celebrating independence this week. I’m celebrating my continued and increasing dependence on God. More and more, day by day, I’m trusting Him to provide our needs.

Show me YOUR ways, Oh Lord
Teach me YOUR paths.
Guide me in YOUR truth and teach me
For YOU are God my SAVIOR
and my hope is in YOU all day long.

I continue to thank God for all the souls who have sacrificed their lives in America and on foreign soils to preserve and protect our homeland throughout our history. They are all heroes to me, and worthy of our admiration and high esteem.

I will always stand against our enemies and those who would do us harm. I love my country and am loyal to a fault. I’m secure in the knowledge that God is in control of everything and will supply all my needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

2 thoughts on “Are we celebrating independence; or should we become more DEpendant?

Leave a Reply

