My “No-calories-left-behind” Nashville weekend

Editor’s Note: This post has absolutely no redeeming spiritual value. It’s just for fun.

If you look up the word “pig out” in the dictionary today you’ll see a photo of me and my son Quentin.

Quentin is moving from Nashville to Orlando Friday. I wanted to spend one more weekend with him in Nashville (a 4-hour drive) before he moved to Florida (a 7 or 8 hour drive) He was having a nostalgia week visiting some of his favorite haunts one last time before leaving Nashville, where he’d been living for four years.

From the time I arrived (Friday afternoon) until I left (late Sunday) we set three local records for calorie consumption (no calories left behind). Besides its reputation for music Nashville ranks towards the top of the list of cities with amazing food. We chewed our way through some of the planet’s finest hotdogs, crepes, home style breakfasts, international gourmet coffees, pancakes, fried chicken and gourmet ice creams.

Despite all the gorging, we struck a healthy balance between gluttony and good health. Saturday we walked 19,238 steps, burned 2,210 calories (active and inactive), and walked 6.2 miles.

new weenie photos

This entry was posted in Eat To Live, God and tagged , , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

