My conversation with an atheist

Several years ago, after an appeal on an atheist website to engage an atheist in a reasoned debate, one responded. We began our discussions fully aware of the chasm between our world views. We emailed back and forth for some time with some relatively vanilla statements about our respective beliefs.

As we continued to engage, however, the climate grew more intense. The atheist grew more confrontational with me. I kept my cool as he was losing his.  He finally became hostile towards my defense of my faith. His statements grew more hostile towards my God.

I was finally able to discern from his comments that this proclaimed atheists did in fact believe in God. He was over-the-top angry because of some events in his life that caused him and his family unimaginable pain and suffering. He believed in God but blamed God for allowing the tragedies to happen to him and his family. I don’t recall the events, but I remember how devastating they sounded to me at the time.

My email encounter with this non-believer gave me cause to consider whether this might be the case for other avowed atheists. Maybe some of them become angry at God.  Rather than try to resolve it with the God, they decide they’ll show God and just not believe in Him anymore.

This entry was posted in A Personal Relationship With God, attitude, behavior, choices, Forgiveness, God, Grace / Mercy, humility, What I Believe by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

8 thoughts on “My conversation with an atheist

  1. Steve you raise a valid point as well as question in regards of others inability to have a relationship with God. While this may not be the case with everyone who considers themselves an Atheist, it is not uncommon. Good thoughts here and opportunity for growth and reflection.

    Like

  2. I have had to opportunity to interact with atheists. I have always kept my cool, but in reality, some don’t really want the truth. The ones I have spoken to, become quite hostile, verbally attack God, and the question they mostly pose is, “Why does He allow all these awful things?” My answer to this is, “If you don’t believe He exists, why are you blaming Him? The others I have interacted with, have been quite open, and somewhat receptive. They want to know more about Him. All we can do is pray that they will respond to the prompting of the Holy Spirit.

    Like

    • Great thoughts. I like your reply a lot. I’m going to remember that. Thanks for sharing. I like your response. If I encounter one again, I may consider asking them, if God does not exist, then how can you claim “He” allows so many bad things.

      Like

      • Hope you don’t mind me joining in here! As an agnostic/atheist who follows your blog for education and to understand the “other side” (!) I’d say atheists don’t claim that God exists and therefore does bad things. I think they say the reason they can’t believe in him as he is portrayed in most holy books and religions is that they can’t understand a deity who could love unconditionally but allow so much hate and evil to propagate if they had the power to stop it.

        I fully believe the evil in the world is man’s doing, not God’s, because I’m not sure God exists. If God does exist, I don’t think he/she would want the hate in the world either but is powerless to stop it, because God isn’t the God of the bible. The God of the bible, in my mind, is an oxymoron, impossible to exist. God could exist, but not in the way major religions say God does.

        Like

      • Hi Girl, Independent. Blessings. The problem with this world is, that God in His infinite wisdom, gave us freedom of choice. Choice to do good, love one another, and express His love by engaging in the aforementioned. Sadly, there are those who have chosen the opposite. Hate to such an extend as to inflict harm on others, participate in heinous crimes, serve the adversary, engage in larcenous behaviors, and just about everything contrary to goodness. Evil is their Moto, or better yet, their intentions. As a retired Behavior Therapist, my interactions with such individuals, who finally saw the light, and chose to follow God, would often talk about the freedom they were now experiencing as a direct result of turning their lives around, and following God.

        Like

    • Patrick, you are so right. I’ve seen some negative things happen when some folks who call themselves “Christians” interact with non-believers. It is sad to see.

      Like

Leave a Reply

