A tinge of guilt


Do you ever wake up in the morning nursing a tinge of guilt? Maybe you and your spouse were at odds when you went to bed. Maybe you regret the way you ridiculed your daughter in front of his friends last night. Maybe you regret not telling your husband how much you really spent on the girls’ school clothes. Maybe you wished you’d said something kind about your son’s new girlfriend.

Whatever it is you wake up with a tinge of guilt. If you don’t do something about it, you know, from past experience with guilt that it’s probably going to mess with your attitude and louse up your productivity and effectiveness all day.

For me, I gotta stamp out that guilt before I head into the day. I’ve must:

  1. Identity the source of the guilt
  2. Correct the cause.

I might have to apologize to someone or ask forgiveness. Or I might have to forgive myself, if I’m guilty of hurting myself.  What I must avoid doing AT ALL COSTS is brush it aside (by telling myself it’s not a big deal, or by ignoring it and choosing to deal with it later).

I don’t need to whitewash it or dismiss it with self-justification or self righteousness. That will negatively impact everything I do that day.

I can pray, Psalm 46:1 — “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” or John 14:1  “Do not let your hearts be troubled.  Trust in God, trust also in me.” or a plethera of other Bible verses to relieve stress or free us from guilt. Or Hebrews 10:22 “let us go right into the presence of God with sincere hearts fully trusting him. For our guilty consciences have been sprinkled with Christ’s blood to make us clean.”

Once we’re clean, once we’ve purged ourselves of the Satan-sent weight of guilt in our conscience, we can move on to greet the day with a smile on our faces and love for others in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

