What’s the power of one?

One kind word. One favor. One verse. One hospital visit. One phone call. One ride home. One smile. What’s the power of just one?

It was one Bible verse that captivated Martin Luther. It was one pastor who spoke one hopeful word to Dwight L. Moody.

My dear friend Alex Garcia, a church planter in Europe and missionary sent out from our church, talked about the power of a single orange seed to explain how one home church might be the one seed to evangelize a single country or even an entire continent.

“An average orange tree grows 300 fruits per season,” he said in a recent devotional message. “Each orange has an average of 7 seeds. That means that per season one seed will produce 2100 additional seeds. Therefore, from one seed, 2100 new trees will grow, and in season they will produce 630.000 fruits. These in turn will produce another 4,410,000 seeds,WOW!!!!”

Let’s stop thinking what we do or say doesn’t matter. Let’s all stop thinking we don’t have influence on those around us.  Don’t think our kind words or deeds don’t matter.  One word, one random act of kindness can change a life. Change a family. Change a community.

Andy Andrews in his best-selling book “Butterfly Effect” that everything we say or do has an impact, not only on those around us, but across the globe.

“Every single thing you do matters.
You have been created as one of a kind.
You have been created in order to make difference.”1

So, today, why not do some self-talk with me. Let’s tell ourselves that what we think, say, and do all have significance. And we matter to God. Let’s start loving others as if one thing we might say or do to be kind to another or serve another might have an eternal impact on their lives.

1Butterfly Effect, by Andy Andrews ©Thomas Nelson Publishing, 2010

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

2 thoughts on “What’s the power of one?

  1. In retrospect , we all like to be told that we are something. That what we do means something . That we are important and are needed. The power of one … A lady dressed in her store uniform, sitting on a curb in the shade of a tree smoking a cigarette . I felt compelled to say hello … How are you ? , As i past by her with my cart of groceries. She kept her eyes on me as though she needed something ? Jesus ? Was she noticing my “Choose Life” license plate ? I’ll never know now that that one opportunity has past me by.
    I am reminded of the Samaritan woman at Jacobs well . Jews did not speak to Samaritans .Especially to a Samaritan woman. What did Jesus do ? He told her of ” living water”,her 5 husbands. Etc. He evangelized her ! The Power Of One Word ! Hello ! My being open to the possibilities of the Holy Spirit working through me. Ever had a chance as I never gave the Holy Spirit the opportunity to use me as His voice .Yes, I may have missed an opportunity or maybe the woman might have thought of me as a threat of some sort . Either way, I now will never know ! So, the next time I am moved to react to a calling, I will do so … The Power Of One ! Amen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

