Why is “Reconciled” in the past tense in the Bible?

My blogging friend, Bob Hildreth, who blogs over at BeGracefull.com, Let the Journey Begin, posted these three questions on his blog last week.

  1. What does the word “reconciled” mean?
  2. How are we reconciled to God?
  3. Why is it indicated in the past tense in the Bible?

You’re probably thinking I’m going to write answers to these questions, right?
No, I’m not.  Bob didn’t give me his answers, and I’m not handing out mine.

There’s a good reason. I don’t know the answers right now. I’m going to have to do some reading and praying and researching before I can answer them with confidence.

How about you?  How would you answer them? I’d love for you to share your answers with me.  If you show me your answers, I’ll show you mine. . . .maybe in a future post, when God teaches me what the answers are.

Bob does this sometimes. He tosses questions at his readers and leaves them hanging without answers.

You can read his post for yourself, and browse through his other videos and posts. Here’s a link to his site.  Enjoy.

Grace-Full Shorts – 1

3 thoughts on “Why is “Reconciled” in the past tense in the Bible?

  1. I think: The good and the bad, no matter the net net, are set to zero through love and salvation from Jesus Christ. It’s in the past once you have confessed and sought forgiveness in Him that washes away the past and begins your present and future with Him. Would you agree?

    Like

  2. Okay, my answer would be that it’s past tense because God reconciled us on the cross, which happened almost 2,000 years ago. I love what Watchman Nee says about faith in his classic work, “The Normal Christian Life.” Our faith has a sure foundation because it’s always based in the past, on what was already done in Christ. Therefore, we cannot undo it; we can only believe it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

