Jesus followers’ lives matter

. . .although it’s hard to tell these days.

It seems to me that Jesus followers are the only “lives” today bearing witness that Black lives matter and Jewish lives matter and Muslim lives matter and Hispanic lives matter and gay lives matter.

I used “Jesus followers” not “Christians” because some who call themselves Christians still emote racial prejudice and bitter dislike for any “lives” that aren’t like theirs.

Listening to mainstream media all people group lives matter but Jesus followers.  Our culture defines us as the divisive ones, the intolerant, narrow-minded, arrogant, inflexible homophobes.

Will the tide turn in our favor? No. Will the name calling and the persecution let up? No. In fact, Jesus tells us it will get worse before it gets better.

Jesus tells us in Matthew 24,

. . .you will be handed over to be persecuted and put to death, and you will be hated by all nations because of me. At that time many will turn away from the faith and will betray and hate each other, and many false prophets will appear and deceive many people. Because of the increase of wickedness, the love of most will grow cold, but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved. V9-13

As authentic followers of Jesus, we must stand firm now against the worsening persecution of the Bride of Christ. And we must “stand firm to the end”.

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

2 thoughts on “Jesus followers’ lives matter

Leave a Reply

