UN-happy Anniversary

EDITOR’S NOTE: Four years ago today we suffered a homicide in our home. I wrote this account a while after the murder happened.

For me it’s one of those days years later folks ask, “Where you you when . . .?”, or “What were you doing when . . .?”

Like 9/11 or December 7, 1941 (attack on Pearl Harbor) or November 22, 1963 (the day President Kennedy was assassinated). It’s a day that sears our memory.

Today is such a day for me. One year ago today, November 10, 2013, after our two granddaughters’ birthday party, my estranged, evil son-in-law shot and killed a dear family friend and paralyzed one of her daughters for life–in our garage. He fled the scene and the state. Six days later, as law enforcement closed in on him, he committed suicide in the car of an unsuspecting driver who gave him a ride.

It’s a dark anniversary for our family. But I am grateful to God for the blessings He has given us and grace and mercy He has shown us since that day. I will never again doubt His faithfulness and provision in our time of tragedy. Our church family embraced us and loved us through our darkest days and the months that followed.

We live a “new normal” now that, each day, outshines the day before. We have renewed hope in a brighter future in a realistic way. And we all walk just a little closer to God.

What satan meant for evil, God used for good. We serve an awesome God. If you’d care to read about our homicide experience, here is a link to my blog post of the account.

https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/2015/01/10/homicide-in-our-home/

At the bottom of the blog you will find links to the newspaper accounts of the homicide and the subsequent suicide.

God bless.

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

19 thoughts on “UN-happy Anniversary

  1. Howdy Steven!

    Anniversary dates are always hard. The feelings come back with very little warning. I’m glad y’all are taking care of yourselves after something so horrible happening. I hope the disabled daughter is doing well.

    Huzzah!
    Jack

    Like

  2. I cannot even fathom the trauma of such a tragedy and I am so sorry you had to bear that. And continue to bear that still. My heart is with you and your family. Only God can make good that which is tragic in our lives and I am humbled to know that He has brought good that you can see from this. Friend, you are dear, to me and to many others. God bless your heart today with comfort.

    Like

    • Thank you, and God bless. Yes, God has used our experience for good in lots of lives besides our own. He is AWESOME.
      Thank you for your comments and encouragement.

      Like

  3. Steven, I am so sorry about all that you have gone through. I knew it was bad but did not know the extent. I will continue to pray for you and your family and all who have been hurt by this incident. We never understand why bad things happen but God does turn all things around. We just have to trust Him even in our darkest hours… God bless you, my friend..
    I was never able to pull up your posting either at this link… https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/2015/01/10/homicide-in-our-home/

    Like

  4. Pingback: My Article Read (11-10-2014) | My Daily Musing

  5. Wow. I have experienced that kind of tragedy too. My father killed the a man that was having an affair with his wife and 5 hours later, during a stand off with police, where he held himself hostage, he shot himself in the head. He survived that, by the grace of God and spent the next 16 years of his life in prison. He died in July of last year. Here’s a post about him if your interested: http://desertroseinbloom.wordpress.com/2014/08/14/regrets-are-just-lessons-waiting-to-be-learned/

    Like

Leave a Reply

