Did God influence the election? One reader responds with questions.

EDITOR’S NOTE: Suze is one of my dearest blogging buddies. She responded to my post yesterday asking if God intervened in Trump’s election victory. Much like me, she is apolitical. She expresses her sentiments with candor and no apologies. I love that about her. Her comment and my reply follow.

And why exactly, would a loving God provide us with such a disgusting example of a man? One who brags of sexually assaulting women, who calls people to attack those that support another candidate, who shouts throw them out at protesters, who says he can shoot someone in a city street and not be arrested. I can not see God doing that to his people. I know He chooses odd people to do his bidding but this man is happy to violate every Christian principal. You may see him as some sort of American savior. I see him as a threat to our very society.

Suze,

As always, I appreciate and enjoy reading your candor. This post, however, was not about political candidate, Donald Trump or his character, or what God allows or doesn’t allow.

Two bigger questions, I believe, this story asks are “Does surrendered, corporate prayer change things? And, equally important to me is: Does 2 Chronicles 7:14 really work?

God’s word tells stories about folks we might consider unqualified and lacking character to carry out God’s plan. Among such questionable (by our terms) characters Rahab, for instance, a prostitute, wound up in the genealogy of Jesus. (Matthew 1:5). God used the woman at the well, an outcast in her town and a depraved immoral wench, to lead hundreds in her town to salvation. David was an adulterer and a murderer. Saul hated Jesus’ followers. He persecuted and killed them.

We have God’s promise in Romans 8:28 to give us pause: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

All the folks who didn’t like Barrack Obama had the same promise. Do we know how God will use Obama’s presidency to work for His good? No. We only know He will. Do we know how God is going to use Donald Trump’s presidency to work for His good? No. We only know He will.

God’s plan and purpose for our lives is larger than any elected official, any government, any political party or any country. God’s plan will succeed despite the efforts of any person, political party, generation, political party or government to derail it. God is on the throne. God is in control. We can all take comfort in that.

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

5 thoughts on “Did God influence the election? One reader responds with questions.

  1. God used evil Nebuchadnezzar and called him “My servant” (Jer.25:29), and Nebuchadnezzar even wrote a chapter in the Bible! (Daniel 4). When Paul told us that “authorities are appointed by God” (Rom, 13:1), he was talking about Nero! It doesn’t matter who the leader is, our job is to be like “Daniel” to our culture. Our hope is not in who’s president because hope lives in us! 🙂

    Like

  2. Yes, God answers prayer. Yes, God works for the benefit of those who love Him. Both these things are true and proven time and time again. Rahab and David are both perfect examples of using the vilified to do great good.
    I personally think He had nothing to do with the rising of Trump. I know He is better than that. More than likely it was not Trump being elevated but Hillary being defeated that was the purpose. At least by believing that I can sleep at night. I still fear for us as a country. The parallels between the US in 2016 and the Weimar Republic are immense to those of us who have ever studied History. Great post by the way. Anything that challenges us to think, to study, to really examine our beliefs is IMO an incredibly good thing. So very glad you are terrific at accomplishing that goal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

