The day Kennedy was assasinated

53 years ago today I was coming out of English class in Shenandoah High School. My classmate and dear Catholic friend Ann Lund came rushing into my arms crying, “Oh, Steve, the president’s been shot. The president’s been shot”. I was shocked and confused as were my classmates who heard Ann’s cry.

We would soon learn from school officials that John F. Kennedy had beeb shot during a motorcade in Dallas, Texas just after 1:00.  The rest of the school day was mass confusion, questions and rumors.  We didn’t have TV at school, so all we could rely on was news we heard on the radio.

It is one of those days etched in our minds we never forget.  Like December 7, 1941 September 11, 2001, July 20, 1969, and January 1, 2000, Y2K.

The events on those dates changed our way of life forever. Regardless of the things that occurred on those days, one thing will never change–God’s love for His children and the eterbal hope we have that one day, regardless of world events, we will live carefree and full of joy with our Father forever.

“Behold, I an with you always.” Matthew 28:20

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.” Hebrews 13:8:

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

3 thoughts on “The day Kennedy was assasinated

  1. how strange that you should write this today. I woke up this morning and the assassination was the very first thing I thought about. I mentioned it to George who said “I was just thinking about the same thing”. Life altering events tend to stick with us no matter how much time goes by. I remember thinking about John and Carolyn who went to my school. And the secret service guys that rushed them both out of school that day and we never saw them again. The heartbreak and fear of what ever could possibly be worse than this comes back in a rush. Let us hope that Nov 8, 2016 doesn’t turn out to be one of the days we never forget. Peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

