How Many Angels In A Host?

angelsI’ve often wondered how many angels appeared in the sky near Bethlehem that night when Jesus was born.

“And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, ‘Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.’ ” Luke 2:13-14 KJV

The Greek word for “host” is stratia and refers to heavenly bodies. In other words a host was compared to the stars in the sky. And the night was clear as a bell. Do the math with me. If we compare one “host” to the stars in the sky, how many could a “multitude of hosts” be?

Angels must have illuminated the expanse of the sky that night. With the glory and light of God’s mind-boggling creation.

Think about those shepherds. They’ve just heard the news from the angel that unto them is born this night in the city of David a Savior which is Christ the Lord. Then, in a flash, the dark, silent sky explodes in bright, holy light and multitudes of heavenly hosts are singing glory to God.

What would it have been like to be one of those shepherds? Just to gaze into the awe and wonder of God’s birth announcement to the world. WOW!

This entry was posted in God and tagged , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

4 thoughts on “How Many Angels In A Host?

  1. I am pretty sure a HOST would fill the entire sky……..and that hill overlooking Bethlehem is just mind-blowing. Heck, everything in Israel is mind-blowing actually..you can not walk anywhere without thinking that this is truly where God spoke to people.

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Article Read (12-2-2014) (12-3-2014) | My Daily Musing

  3. After you find the answer to how many is in a host, answer the age old question about how many angels fit on the head of a pin. 🙂 Seriously, it must’ve been overwhelming. One of the times we were in Israel our guide showed us the hillside by Bethlehem where they think the shepherds were (still being used by shepherds today!). It was amazing to me just imagining what that scene would’ve been like there. Going there made it more real to me.
    Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • WOW! That must have been a wonderful experience being on that hillside. Sometimes, like in this post, I like to imagine myself on that hillside looking down on Bethlehem and into the sky when all those angels appeared with the hindsight of knowing what was about to transpire in the hours and days to come.

      Like

Leave a Reply

