‘Twas the day after Christmas

and all over the place
folks turned their hearts’ focus
to the same old rat race

Ever notice how the “Spirit” of Christmas leaves town on December 26th?

  • You yell at the kids to pick up all the toys cluttering up every room in the house
  • The sweater Aunt Bernice gave you is plaid. You hate plaid
  • Your new under-counter can opener doesn’t work
  • Half the kids’ toys didn’t come with batteries
    • They’re begging you to get them some
    • They don’t buy your story about Walmart being closed
  • You got socks instead of the printer you asked Santa for
  • You ate too much, and you’re out of Pepto Bismol
  • Grandpa wants you to fix his oatmeal
  • The house is still a wreck
  • The dog chewed up your new  bedroom slippers
  • You can’t find the TV remote anywhere
  • The Christmas package you sent Uncle Bob never arrived
  • Suddenly you’re sick of Christmas music

Just yesterday, there was a fleeting moment when all was right with the world. You gathered the whole family around the Christmas tree and listened to Dad read Luke 2.  But as fast as the angels left the night sky, the Christmas Spirit fled this morning.

Why does the Christmas Spirit flee so fast? And what can we do to keep it around more than a day?

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

8 thoughts on “‘Twas the day after Christmas

  1. Pingback: A Summary..part2 – idealizeblog

Leave a Reply

