Cataract surgery successful!

The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are good, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eyes are bad,your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness! Matthew 6:22-23 NIV

My cataract surgery was a breeze! It took all of 15 minutes. Recovery was about 40. My surgeon said I did well and he was pleased with the procedure. Vision in my left eye is blurred slightly from the surgery today. He said I should be seeing 20-20 out of my surgery eye this weekend. Colors are much more vivid already and everything seems to be bathed in more light.

I’ll be putting drops in my eye every day for weeks. I see my surgeon again tomorrow and in two weeks for followup. If he thinks the left eye is healed, he will schedule surgery for the right eye. That eye has an astigmatism, so I may have to wear some cheap reading glasses for close up work, he said. I will be 20-20 in my left eye and near 20-20 in my right.

I will be free of prescription glasses forever, he said!  Is that a praise report or what? Thanks for your prayers. I felt them. God is good.

My eyes need to be good. My eyes have been bad (healthy, but bad) far too often and far too long. I must commit to,

Turn my eyes away from worthless things;
preserve my life according to your word. Psalm 119:37

Now that I’ll have 20-20 vision from God, I pray my commitment will be courageous, and my resolve strong to obey.

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

4 thoughts on “Cataract surgery successful!

Leave a Reply

