It won’t get any better

My cousin Carla Pitner posted her response to a Today show interview with the wife of a Navy Seal killed in Libya with the U.S. Ambassador. She wrote in part,

“On the ‘Today Show’, Matt Lauer interviewed one of the wives of one of the Navy Sealscarla pitner killed along with the US ambassador in Libya. He asked what she would say to her children about their dad and how she would want them to remember him. Her answer, and I quote, ‘His love for Christ’.”

She said when NBC aired the segment throughout the day, they left out “His love for Christ.” They omitted the phrase because the network probably didn’t want to offend any Muslim or Atheist viewers or advertising dollars from Muslim or Atheist sponsors.

Carla was deeply offended by the omission. And so was I when I read her post. I don’t watch NBC often and I don’t watch Mat Lauer at all, if I can help it. He’s one of the most arrogant, biased and prejudicial fake news purveyors on TV, in my opinion.

To me the broadcast omission heaped more proof of the media’s discrimination against Jesus followers. While the omission incensed me too, it did not surprise me. In my view the discrimination and persecution of Jesus followers will only get worse.

I need to remind myself of the persecution Jesus suffered to the point of death on the cross. I also need to remind myself that Jesus told us things would get worse.

Despite the persecution and hate poured out on us, Jesus reminded us that our command from Him is to love one another, even those who persecute us.

Are we ready for it all to get really ugly out there?  We’d better be.

My sweet cousin is a sweet, genuine lover of Jesus and she wrote a very heart-felt response. To read my cousin’s great post, follow this link.

https://www.facebook.com/karla.pitner?fref=nf&pnref=story

P.S. I’m not worried, though. I’ve read the last chapter of the book and God wins.

This entry was posted in A Personal Relationship With God, abiding in Christ, acceptance, admonition, attitude, behavior, change, choices, God, God's Sovereignty by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

2 thoughts on “It won’t get any better

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing – Br Andrew's Muses

  2. In 1800, at fifty-seven years of age, Thomas Jefferson wrote in a letter: “I have sworn eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man.” What caused Jefferson to labor over, and call his readers to pay close attention. It was neither novelty nor New York formality. Thomas Jefferson’s ardent wish was to make the Declaration of Independence crystallize throughout the Nation the American Spirit of freedom and independence.

    Thomas Jefferson was a person, who throughout his entire life maintained the vibrantly pulsing spirit of America – the land of the free, the home of the brave. It is the cry of despair from the very depths of a persons’ life that shapes and moves other people’s hearts. People of faith should strive to become outstanding citizens of their respective Communities.

    Like

Leave a Reply

