Who are you?

true identity in ChristWhen I used to go shopping before chip readers, and use my debit card, cashiers asked me, “Can I see your driver’s license?”  They wanted to know who I was. They wanted to see if my driver’s license photo matched who I look like.

Mine doesn’t. I’ve got 20 more pounds than my Driver’s license photo and I wear a beard. It really doesn’t matter, because now they only ask for your birthday.

Do you know who you are? That sounds like a stupid question. But it’s makes a huge difference if we know who we are and are comfortable with who we are.  If someone were to ask you, “Who are you?” What would you tell them?

I get a chuckle when I’m in a group of men who may be meeting for the first time. The leader usually asks for the men to go around the room and introduce themselves. Almost without exception they’ll tell you their name and what they do for a living.

This “what-I-do-for-a-living” mentality started when we were babies. We learned quickly that our behavior (what we do) matters. We learned that when we cry we get fed, we get a clean diaper, or we get to take naps. If we laugh and coo and giggle, everyone in the room laughs and smiles, which pleases baby. If we spit out our food we get something else that tastes better.  In other words, if babies act a certain way they get what they want. But if they pull the cat’s tail or throw the cell phone in the toilet, kids learn that some behaviors gets another response.

As adults we learn that certain behaviors produce certain results. If we get to work on time, do our jobs well, give 110 percent, and treat people with respect, we’ll reap personal or financial rewards.

In other words we have come to believe we’re all about what we do.  We learn to believe it’s our behavior that matters.  But that’s not who we are.

Who we genuinely are has nothing to do with our jobs, our talents, our ancestry or our abilities. Who we are depends entirely and forever on one question? Do you know Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior. If you answer that question, “Yes”, you are, now and forever, an unconditionally loved child of Almighty God. And you will live forever in His presence. If you answer that question, “No”, you will be, eternally and forever, separated from God and his unconditional love and grace.

This entry was posted in God, Identity In Christ by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

