God

Rejection

As you come to him, the living Stone—rejected by humans but chosen by God and precious to him. 2 Peter 2:4

“There are two kinds of people in the world– those who have been rejected, and those who have been rejected more than once.”   Charles Solomon, Grace Fellowship

On a Friday the 13th in March 1985 between the hours of 12:30 p.m. And 5 p.m. I lost my job, my house and my family (my wife and four-year-old daughter left me.). Three irejections in a row in one afternoon. Individually they would have been traumatic enough but collectively they were devastating..

As I sat weeping in My den not knowing what the next days would bring, the next moment. I had my Bible in my lap and prayed, “God  give me something of you In this moment of your strength to move, of your grace to endure these trials.  God, I need you more than ever now. My Bible was in my lap I just flipped it over and landed on Romans 5.

By whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God. And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience;And patience, experience; and experience, hope: And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.

Talk about God being right there when you need Him with just the comfort and words  I needed to hear.  I learnedL the blessing of trust in God that afternoon. And much to my delight all three of those  Friday- the-13th traumas that afternoon turned into blessings months down the road.

As Mr. Solomon said, you’ve been rejected, or you’ve been rejected more than once. Regardless of the nature of the rejection it’s how we respond did the rejection that determines how we live past the rejection. I have learned since that fateful Friday the 13th but God is the best one the deal with my rejection. If I turn them over to him he will work out the rejections these for my good and His glory..

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.