Cap Gun Caper

We’ll never know why David Stinnett brought his cap gun to church in 4thcap pistol grade. Our angelic boys choir fidgeted and played pencil games on the front row. I was sitting next to David. He was playing with a cap gun. We told him to stop.

He didn’t.

The sudden “pop” shattered the silence and filled the sanctuary. A small tuft of smoke floated ominously above David’s head. My mom thought I did it. David sat death-like, immovable. We all did. Rev. Crandall shot us a glance. I heard some gasps. After a brief fear-filled pause that seemed to last an hour, he spoke. His words haunt me still. “Let that be a lesson to you,” he admonished with clenched jaw.

This post is free of spiritual wisdom, Biblical principles or God’s Truth. If there’s a lesson to be learned here it’s probably: don’t let your kids or grandchildren take a cap gun to church. Back then it was a stupid prank. Today it might be considered a terrorist act. Either way, cap guns don’t belong in church.

This entry was posted in advice, behavior, choices, God and tagged , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

4 thoughts on “Cap Gun Caper

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (2-15-2015) (2-16-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

