Did You Turn On The Power?

When we got our digital phone service, I decided to save time and money installing the modem myself. I don’t have much use for manuals. The print is always so small. I used the picture diagram on the box.

An hou later I gave in and called tech support. I  told the nice young man on the phone I followed all the right steps, just like the diagram showed me. But I still couldn’t make or receive calls. “The modem must be defective,” I told him.

He walked me through the steps on the diagram. “It sounds like you did everything right.
Did you turn on the power?”

(Dead silence. Long, embarrassing, dead silence.)

I saw the jack and plugged it into the hole on the back of the modem clearly marked “Power”.

I apologized all over myself and thanked him for his time and patience.

Don’t we do that with God sometimes? When we’re faced with difficult or confusingpower source choices, don’t we forget the same power source that raised Jesus from the dead is available to us? Residing in us? How many times have I told God, “Never mind, Father. I got this.”? How many times have I refused to tap into God’s inexhaustible power source? How many times have I neglected to turn on God’s power in me to face my challenges?

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And  lean not on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.
Proverbs 3:5-6

9 thoughts on “Did You Turn On The Power?

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (5-21-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

