Just Do It

just do itA popular U.S. manufacturer of athletic shoes, apparel, and sports equipment brandishes the motto “Just do it.”

That’s what Noah chose to do when God gave him His improbable sounding mission. Noah had never seen rain. He’d never heard of an ark, and he probably was clueless what a cubit was. Yet, when God told him what He wanted Noah to do, Noah just did it.

God was fed up with man’s wickedness on the earth.

The Lord saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intention of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually. “I will blot out man whom I have created from the face of the land,” the Lord said, “man and animals and creeping things and birds of the heavens.” Genesis 6:5, 7. ESV

But the Bible says God found favor with Noah, because “Noah walked with God.”

After God finished giving Noah his calling,Noah did this; he did all that God commanded him.” Genesis 6:22.

He just did it.

He put his head down and went to work. He didn’t argue with God. He didn’t doubt his giftedness for the task. He just plowed ahead and didn’t look back. He had no Plan B. He just did it.

I’m asking myself today if God may be wanting me to do something I’m hesitating to do. Does God find favor with me? Does God have another direction He’s telling me to go? Do I know what it is and just don’t want to go there? Am I operating out of my giftedness? Am I confident I know what my God-given gifts are? When I’m gone, will folks say, “He did what he was called to do”?

What about you? Do any of these questions beckon you to wonder too?

4 thoughts on “Just Do It

Leave a Reply

